VHB & HG Design Studio Join Forces

Addressing tomorrow’s challenges through collaboration and new approaches.

The growing Richmond and Hampton Roads Region of Virginia requires new approaches to address tomorrow’s challenges in the ever-evolving AEC industry and in our communities. With a presence in the Commonwealth for more than six decades, HG Design Studio provides land planning, landscape architecture, and civil engineering services. Their holistic project approach involves disciplines working side-by-side to integrate a collective design that will address the technical and aesthetic elements of the external built environment. VHB and HG Design Studio are stronger together, providing a broader suite of integrated services to deliver resilient and sustainable solutions that positively impact our clients and communities.

Leaders from VHB and HG Design Studio smile at the camera in front of a blue brick building.
From left to right, leaders from HG Design Studio and VHB’s Mid-Atlantic Region: Meril Gerstenmaier, Piotr Swietuchowski, Nancy Barker, Dave Gerstenmaier, Charlene Harper, Chris DeWitt, Randy Biltz, and Diane Linderman.

Meet Our New Team Members!

Gerstenmaier_Dave.jpg

Dave Gerstenmaier, PLA

Principal, Senior Landscape Architect

For more than 35 years, Dave has accumulated an extensive and award-winning portfolio in landscape architectural design and land planning in Virginia. He has built a reputation for effective project delivery, balancing cost, time, and quality design. Dave has a passion for design with an eye on constructability.

dgerstenmaier@vhb.com | 804.441.7509

Gerstenmaier_Meril.jpg

Meril Gerstenmaier, LEED

Industry Relationship Manager

Meril’s focus is on building innovative operational structures and relationships to usher in growth strategy and expand geographic reach. She facilitated the addition of civil engineering services to HG’s already thriving landscape architecture practice as part of integrated service offerings and holistic design.

mgerstenmaier@vhb.com | 804.441.7512

Harper_Charlene.jpg

Charlene Harper, PE

Senior Project Manager, Stormwater

Charlene’s work focuses on the reduction of environmental impacts due to the built environment. She is experienced in the design and installation oversight of innovative stormwater treatment techniques such as green roofs and permeable pavements in addition to traditional treatment practices such as filters and basins.

charper@vhb.com | 804.441.7507

Biltz_Randy.jpg

Randy Biltz, PLA

Senior Landscape Architect

With nearly two decades of experience, Randy is astutely aware of budgeting and constructability on both sides of the aisle, and how to minimize a client’s expense without sacrificing a project’s delivery. He possesses a rare skillset of designing and managing projects from the very small to large mixed-use developments with varied amenities.

rbiltz@vhb.com | 804.441.7504

 

Andy Sisson

Project Manager

asisson@vhb.com
804.441.7503

Lee Jones

Project Manager

wjones@vhb.com
804.441.7515

Harley Walker

Project Manager

hwalker@vhb.com
804.441.7502

Eddie Glass

Senior Project Manager

eglass@vhb.com
804.441.7508

Phillip Merritt

Landscape Architect

pmerritt@vhb.com
757.279.2916

Dana Stone

Planner

dstone@vhb.com
804.441.7516

Erica Gatti

Landscape Architect

egatti@vhb.com
804.441.7501

Mike White

Landscape Designer

mjwhite@vhb.com
804.441.7510

Haley Roland

Landscape Designer

hroland@vhb.com
804.441.7506

Rachel Caesar

Civil Designer

rcaesar@vhb.com
804.441.7514

David Newton

Designer

dnewton@vhb.com
804.441.7513

Dana Potter

Billing Specialist

drpotter@vhb.com
804.441.7511

Sarah Haubrock

Marketing Coordinator

shaubrock@vhb.com
804.441.7505 

A logo with the text, “VHB + HG Design Studio Joining Forces


VHB’s strategic plan provides a thoughtful roadmap for a sustainable future with a focus on delivering best-in-class, differentiating solutions to our clients and communities. The addition of the HG Design Studio Team strengthens this within Richmond and the Mid-Atlantic region as we continue to provide value and be a resource to our clients facing challenges and opportunities within the constantly changing nature of our communities.

—Mike Carragher, President & CEO

Share

x